Tolkien Questionaire (3/5)

Here are the next answers to the Tolkien Questionaire that I am currently doing! The first two questions this time is really difficult for me because I have no memory for lines and quotes! I remember the overall big picture and various facts here and there, but exact phrasing, that’s difficult… So, I don’t think my answers here will be very representative of actually being favourites, I’m just gonna call them lines that I really like that I stumbled over online!

What are your top five favorite lines from the films?

Gimli: Never thought I’d die fighting side by side with and Elf.
Legolas: What about side by side with a friend?

Sam: I can’t carry it for you, but I can carry you!

Sam: […] How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer. […]

Theoden:  Where is the horse and the rider? Where is the horn that was blowing? They have passed like rain on the mountain, like wind in the meadow. The days have gone down in the West behind the hills into shadow. How did it come to this?

Faramir:  His sense of duty was no less than yours, I deem. You wonder what his name is… where he came from. And if he was really evil at heart. What lies or threats led him on this long march from home. If he would not rather have stayed there… n peace. War will make corpses of us all.

What are your top five favorite lines from the book?

Bilbo: I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like; and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.

Faramir: I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend.

Gandalf: He that breaks a thing to find out what it is has left the path of wisdom.

Háma: Yet in doubt a man of worth will trust to his own wisdom.

Frodo:  I am glad you are here with me. Here at the end of all things, Sam.

Who do you think is the most underrated character?

Eómer and Erkenbrand (who is not even in the films, so his role was kind of mixed with Eómer’s there). I think that they are quite important and interesting characters that doesn’t get the attention they deserve, talking both books and films.

Have you watched any of the animated films? If so, what are your opinions?

I have watched Ralph Bakshi’s Lord of the Rings. I enjoy it mostly and I find parts to be a bit irksome, mainly because there is such a mixed visual feel to it. Otherwise I kind of go *facepalm* when it comes to the characterisation of Sam.

How has LOTR affected your life?

So, I should insert the story of more than half my life here? It have affected my life immensely! Both the books and films have brought so much new to my life and it just keeps adding more. One example is how my interest for Tolkien’s writings and how he was inspired by Beowuld and Norse mythology have been overlaps with my studies in Archaeology and my interest in Scandinavian Iron Age. Which is great! Also, the films just rocketed me into starting to really get into watching films but also the craft of filmmaking. I have studied film theory and practical filmmaking as well. That would never have happened unless I had gotten so into the films.

Which characters would you want in your Fellowship?

I would not change anything about the Fellowship! Maybe add Faramir, that would have worked well.

Weapon of choice?

Sword and occasionally bow.

Would you have volunteered to destroy the Ring?

Yeah, mainly because I find it difficult to trust others to fulfil their duties. 😛

Who do you think is the most attractive character?

For their personality; Faramir in the books and probably Aragorn in the movies. Aesthetically, I would be mad not to say Galadriel. Boromir is also aesthetically pleasing.

Do you own any LOTR merchandise? If so, what is your favorite item?

I’m not sure I do, I don’t think so! I mostly go for the books and the DVD (one has to prioritise with a low student income). I used to try and collect pictures and posters as a teenager. I wanted to buy a lifesize Nazgûl from cinemareplicas.com maybe ten years ago. I would really like to have a replica of Theoden’s sword. I’m more likely to buy a cool t-shirt, because that I find practical and I will use it (there are no person more picky than me when it comes to design, so that’s part reason why I do not have one, yet!).

Leave a Reply

