Tolkien week: Day 3 – Middle-earth Questionaire

Since I saw that fellow blogger James at A Tolkienist’s Perspective had answered these questions put forward by this blog, I decided to have a go at answering them as well!

1.  What draws you to Tolkien’s stories?  (The characters, the quests, the themes, the worlds, etc.)
What caught me the first readings is the spirit of adventure and  quest! What kept me a fan is the vast amount of brilliantly written characters and the themes present. There is such diversity but also room for ones own imagination. What have made me realise what makes Tolkien’s stories so great are the depth of the world created. There are so many layers of mythology and history, intervowen with each other and it branches out in the mythologies and languages of our own real world.

2.  What was the first Middle Earth book you read and/or movie you saw?  What did you think of it?
The first one I read was The Hobbit when I was 9. I read it in swedish. For that one I really enjoyed the storytelling sense of it. I would have loved to have someone read it for me! I think that it was mainly the characters and language that captivated me.

3.  Name three of your favorite characters and tell us why you like them.
Théoden – There is something special about humans. I find that humans are often the most intriguing characters in Middle-earth because of their (our) nature of being carriers of both good and evil. I think that what I like in Théoden is that because he has been very badly influenced, he builds up a protection and get a more aware mindset and seems to think things through, but he is still filled with doubt. In the end, he works through it to protect his people and in the long run takes the moral highground and help protect Gondor and mankind as a whole.

Gandalf – I’m simply a sucker for the experienced and wise. But even though he is a great spirit, he can still make mistakes. However, I think that his innate goodness and sometimes harsh exterior is comforting.

Merry – I apprechiate his wit, perception and cheerfulness. Somehow he is able to be realistic in his view of the world and he is brave because he meets that world.

4.  Are there any secondary characters you think deserve more attention?
Quickbeam, the ent! I really enjoyed this character. He is queer among the ents.

5.  What Middle Earth character do you relate to the most?
This is a difficult one… I can tell which I don’t relate to at all: The elves. I feel distant from them. Maybe I relate to Faramir a bit?

6.  If you could ask Professor Tolkien one Middle Earth-related question, what would you like to ask him?
How did Illuvatar become and how did he became aware of self and existence? (Getting deep here…)

7.  Are there any pieces of Middle Earth merchandise you would particularly like to own, but don’t?
I would love to have big maps and Théoden’s sword.

8.  What battle would you absolutely not want to be part of?
Any battle? I think that the Battle of Unnumbered Tears would be pretty devastating with all the slavery following up on it.

9.  Would you rather eat a meal at the Rivendell or Bag End?
Bag End! Every time.

10.  List up to ten of your favorite lines/quotes from the books or movies.

Remembering quotes is difficult for me, so any favourites rarely come to mind and I do not have the patience to look it up at the moment. I have a drawing to make! 😛

3 thoughts on “Tolkien week: Day 3 – Middle-earth Questionaire

  1. Very perceptive answer about Merry there! Now that you mention it, I think that’s a lot of what draws me to him too — the way he faces the big, scary world around him.

    Quickbeam is very cool — he makes me grin.

    Thanks for joining the party! Happy Tolkien Week 🙂 I poked around your blog a little bit just now, and your drawings are excellent!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Middle-earth Questionnaire | Alice Reads Tolkien

Leave a Reply

